Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – The Italian Job

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – The Italian Job

Saturday 12th October, 2019



ROSSINI The Italian Girl in Algiers: Overture

MARTUCCI Notturno Op.70, No.1

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.3, ‘Eroica’

Gianluca Marciano Conductor

Francesca Dego Violin

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra gives a big welcome back to Fairfield Halls in Croydon, where the Orchestra has been entertaining audiences with incredible orchestral music for many decades, and opens its new 2019-20 Season in spectacular style.

Rossini’s illustrative Overture with its unwinding, energetic energies is contrasted by Martucci, whose Notturno has a wholly different Italian flavour in its exquisite elegance. Closing the first half is Bruch’s Violin Concerto No.1 with Italian soloist Francesco Dego, a work that unleashes the full spectrum of the instrument and to this day is one of the most popular works in the violin repertoire.

Beethoven’s Symphony No.3 is considered by many – including the composer himself – to be his greatest symphony. The passionate fervour of its composition shows itself from the audacious opening movement, and the symphony’s complex ideas never fail to find emotional weight in the masterstrokes of a fiery young genius who began to define what it meant to be a Romantic.


Saturday - 12th October 7:30 PM Book Now